Mirza tops Elite class as UAE riders continue to dominate

UAE riding giant Yousif Mirza yesterday eased to a commanding win in the Elite Individual Time Trial, beating compatriot and brother Badar Mirza to the top spot on day two of the GCC Road Cycling Championships.
Bahraini cyclist Sayed Ahmed Khalil finished in the third spot as a total of six riders completed the 34.6km distance around Losail International Circuit and Qatar Shooting Range facility.
The 28-year-old Mirza, who became first Emirati cyclist to compete in Olympics last year at Rio Games, clocked a time of 45.21 seconds while Badar finished with his top time of 46.11 seconds as UAE riders dominated proceedings for the second day running.
Khalil of Bahrain finished in a time of 47.19 seconds.
Kuwait's Jafar Al Ali (47.46 seconds), Bahrain's Mansoor Mohammed (48.24 seconds) and Saudi Arabia's Sultan Al Aseeri (50.40 seconds) completed the top six of the day.
Also yesterday, UAE's Abdullah Abdulkareem topped the Junior Class with a time of 31.43 seconds. Abdulkareem's compatriot Rashid Abdullah (31.58 seconds) finished second. Bahrain's Mohammed Ibrahim (33.15 seconds) emerged as the third fastest rider in a group of six that contested in the Junior Class.
Ahmed Naser (Bahrain, 33.24 seconds), Yusuf Al Yusuf (Saudi Arabia, 33.49 seconds) and Hassan Ibrahim (34.11 seconds) completed the top six.
UAE's Abdullah Jassim won the Cadets Class with a time of 16.09 seconds.
Bahrain's Jassim Mohammed (16.54 seconds) finished second while Saudi Arabia's Al Hassan Al Momin (17.37 seconds) claimed the third spot.
Abdulrehman Al Sultan (Saudi Arabia, 17.43 seconds), Ali Hameed (UAE, 17.50 seconds), Ali Nasser (Bahrain, 18.07 seconds) and Manzar Abdullah (19.12 seconds) completed the top 7 riders who managed a distance of 11.5kms.
In today's action, riders will compete in the Cadets Class (road race) covering a distance of 46kms.
In the Junior Class, the riders will complete a distance of 92 kms.
Tomorrow is the last day of action when the Elite Class completes a distance of 138kms in the Road Race.