Nicholas wins individual time trial

In-form David Nichols won the men’s ‘A’ category Individual Time Trial - the first stage of Royal Air Maroc League - at the Losail Technical Zone.

Nicholas clocked 27:25.2sec followed by Team Bottrill HSS Hire’s Jonathan Parker and Velostar’s Tom Whateley.

This is Nicholas’ second victory this month. He had earlier won the Open class of the Al Kheesa XCO – the first event of the five-race Qatar Mountain Bike League – at Al Kheesa trail.

As many as 117 cyclists took part in the 18.9km event, which was organised by the Qatar Cycling and Triathlon Federation (QCTF). One lap distance was 9.45km, while every rider was supposed to finish two laps.

Jaco Anderson won the men’s ‘B’ title, with Pinoy Roadies Qatar’s Andrew Tangonan and Mashel al-Naimi finishing second and third respectively.

Losail Team’s Saleh al-Muhannadi took the honours in the third category. PCCQ’s Ronald Balorio and Qatar national junior team’s Zaid Hamza claimed silver and bronze medals respectively.

In the women’s competition, Julie Melville of AndyBrownProRacing won category A gold in a time of 32:24.5sec. Isora Sosa Caballero of TriClub Doha was second followed by Jennifer Gibbons from AndyBrownProRacing.

Kathrine Gomez from of TriClub Doha topped category B, while Carmel Lord of AndyBrownProRacing and Helena Corby were second and third respectively.