Qatar Mountain Bike League: Nichols seals Open Class win

David Nichols of Carbon Wheels Racing underlined his intentions by winning the Open Class of the first Al Kheesa XCO Race of the Qatar Mountain Bike League (QMBL) season this weekend. 
Nichols proved to be the fastest rider clocking a time of 1:19:04 to finish ahead of team mate Davy Muller who ended in a time of 1:22:11.  

Clark Arvin Andrada (UFMBQ - SMCC Apo Lakay) finished in third spot in a time of 1:24:50.  

Carla Pregigueiro won the Ladies Class with an impressive time of 0:52:52. The TriClub Doha rider easily completed three laps of the race.

Ceren Hancioglu (Solo) finished second some 14:44.31 seconds off the time set by Carla. Maricar Estacio (UFMBQ - Banayad MTB) was third (1:32:31).

The race course was a dry terrain mix of flats, sand pits, and artificial obstacles, inclines and descents, organisers said yesterday. The riders covered 5kms in every lap.

Riders from the Open category endured a grueling 6 Laps of the race route while the Age Category riders and Ladies Category completed 3 Laps each. 

The organisers has set just 1 lap for riders in the Beginner category. With a testing route to tackle, the organisers said a total of 107 riders finished the race while 19 abandoned the race.

The Al Kheesa XCO Race was organised by United Filipino Mountain Bikers Qatar (UFMBQ) and Qatar Cycling and Triathlon Federation (QCTF) in partnership with Rayyan Water and the Qatar Chain Reaction (QCR), who provided the chip timing system.

UFMBQ is an active organisation of Filipino mountain bike enthusiasts. 

Officially established in 2014 they have been actively organising mountain bike races events for the whole mountain biking community since 2013, contributing to the development and rising popularity of the mountain bike races in Qatar.

With the rising popularity of the sport, QCTF had step up the level of competition by organising the 1st ever Qatar Mountain Bike League in partnership with UFMBQ.

“It was the first part of the 5-race of the Qatar Mountain Bike League for the 2017-2018 Season,” Andrej Filip, Technical Secretary of QCTF, said.

“QCTF aims to develop the sport of mountain biking and to develop local talents for these kinds of competition,” Filip said.

The Qatar Mountain Bike League is a series of 5 Mountain Bike Races showcasing the local off-road cycling tracks of Al Kheesa, Al Khor, Duhail, Lusail and Al Wakrah. Jamal Alkuwari, Secretary General of the QCTF, handed over the prizes to the winners of each category.

“The second leg of the QMBL series will take place on October 27 at the Al Khor MTB trail, “ Filip said.


Results (read under as position, rider, team, time, difference and points tally)
Open Class

1ST 8 David NICHOLS (Carbon Wheels Racing) 1:19:04 -- 37 points
2ND 4 Davy MULLER (Carbon Wheels Racing) 1:22:11 +   03:07 31 
3RD 3 Clark Arvin ANDRADA (UFMBQ - SMCC Apo Lakay) 1:24:50 + 05:46 26 
U23 (3 Laps)
1ST 21 Ernie Daniel FRANCISCO (UFMBQ - El Padyakero) 0:48:57 -- 37 
2ND 22 Joshua SALONGA (UFMBQ - Braveheart) 0:52:32 +   03:35 31
Age 23 to 34 (3 Laps)
1ST 36 Carlo MANIEBO (FIT-Q) 0:43:41 -- 37 
2ND 38 Guillermo GONZALEZ BORDALAS (Be Fitness) 0:43:41 +   00:00 31 
3RD 29 Cristopher SURIGAO (UFMBQ - PCCQ) 0:43:48 +   00:07 26
Age 35 to 40 (3 Laps)
1ST 51 Allan NAVARRO (Solo) 0:47:29 -- 37 
2ND 65 Allan MACALALAD (UFMBQ - BPMQ) 0:47:59 + 00:30 31 
3RD 47 Jonathan OCHOA (UFMBQ - PCCQ) 0:48:21 + 00:52 26 
Age 41 & Above (3 Laps)
1ST 97 Fernan Louien ANCIADO (UFMBQ - BPMQ) 0:44:55 -- 37 
2ND 92 Rogelio Jr. FERNANDEZ (Solo) 0:46:16 + 01:21 31 
3RD 83 Saleh ALMUHANNADI (Qatar Cyclists - Lusail Team) 0:47:06 + 02:11 26
Ladies (3 Laps)
1ST 123 Carla PREGIGUEIRO (TriClub Doha) 0:52:52 -- 37 
2ND 122 Ceren HANCIOGLU (Solo) 1:07:36 + 14:44 31 
3RD 121 Maricar ESTACIO (UFMBQ - Banayad MTB) 1:32:31 + 39:39 26 
Beginners(3 Laps)
1ST 127 Eleazar JUTA (UFMBQ - Team Industrial) 0:13:34 -- - - 
2ND 129 Monico Jr. CALABIAO (UFMBQ - PCCQ) 0:13:44 + 00:10 - - 
3RD 132 Ruel BANDONG (UFMBQ - BPMQ) 0:14:43 + 01:09 - -